Monday / May 28 / 2018

SS Talent Show


KG Free Flow


UAE National Day Assembly




International General Certificate of Secondary Education

IGCSE will only be available for the coming academic year 2017/18.

What are CIE IGCSEs?

Cambridge International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) is the world’s most popular international curriculum for 14-16 year olds, leading to globally recognised and valued Cambridge IGCSE qualifications. It is part of the Cambridge Secondary 2 stage.

Cambridge IGCSE encourages learner-centred and enquiry-based approaches to learning. It develops learners’ skills in creative thinking, enquiry and problem solving, giving learners excellent preparation for the next stage in their education. Cambridge IGCSE is compatible with other curricula and is internationally relevant and sensitive to different needs and cultures.

Cambridge IGCSE is taken in over 100 countries worldwide and is widely recognised by higher education institutions and employers around the world as evidence of academic ability. In some parts of the world, schools use Cambridge IGCSE as an international alternative to the local government's examination. The resulting qualification provides a foundation for higher level courses in the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (IBDP).  

The Cambridge IGCSE Programme has an excellent reputation amongst international schools worldwide. The IGCSE is benchmarked using eight internationally recognised grades: A*, A,: A*, A, B, C, D, E, F and G. Grade A* is the highest level of achievement and grade G is the minimum awarded. Most post-16 institutions require students to have a minimum of five IGCSE grade Cs or above, though more realistically students require a B grade or higher in those subjects that they intend to study at post-16 level in order to do well.


Learning & Teaching

Cambridge IGCSE offers a flexible and stimulating curriculum, supported with excellent resources and training. In students it helps improve performance by developing skills in creative thinking, enquiry and problem solving. Cambridge IGCSE develops learner knowledge, understanding and skills in:



Cambridge International Certificate of Education (ICE) is the group award of the International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) and requires the study of subjects drawn from the five different IGCSE subject groups. It gives schools the opportunity to benefit from offering a broad and balanced curriculum by recognising the achievements of students who pass examinations in at least seven subjects, including two languages, and one subject from each of the other subject groups. A wide range of IGCSE subjects is available and these are grouped into five curriculum areas, as follows:


Candidates hoping to gain the Cambridge ICE group award must enter and sit for at least seven subjects selected from the five IGCSE curriculum areas. The subjects selected must include two (different) languages from Group I (i.e. only one of First Language English and English as a Second Language may count towards Cambridge ICE) and one subject from each of Groups II, III, IV and V. The seventh subject can be taken from any of the five subject groups. Since most RWA students take 8 subjects including 2 languages, most of our students, meet the ICE requirements. For further information on the Cambridge IGCSE Programme and ICE group award, please visit .


The option blocks at RWA are set up in such a way as to encourage all students to select a blend of subjects that will allow them to qualify for ICE.


RWA’s Curriculum

At RWA students will study a total of around eight IGCSE subjects from the lists below.


Compulsory subjects:


Subject choices:


Further details of the IGCSE programme can be found in the IGCSE options booklet.